dsc03699

I thought I would let you know that quality control is VERY important in my kitchen, and Chaco takes this job seriously!  He will climb up on the cabinets to get a birds’ eye view of what I am doing, and he lets me know if there is something wrong.  I hope that this will convince you that I am a good cook- ha!  Actually, I really just think that Chaco looks hillarious when he presides over the kitchen like this (usually he is trying to get away from Daniel). 

Okay, so this post was about coconut milk tonic.  I had read about this drink many months ago over on the Nourishing Gourmet blog, so it has been in the back of my mind for quite some time.  When I found out Daniel was dehydrated on Sunday, I was trying to come up with some fluid to give him with electrolytes that was NOT gatorade or pedialyte (since they have HIGH FRUTOSE CORN SYRUP AND ARTIFICIAL COLORS in them…yuck)!  As I was pondering the best options at Whole Foods, I found bottles of plain electrolyte water that I got for Daniel.  This has been awesome… I just put it in his water cup, and he never knew the difference.  The main challenge I have had is that he only likes water- he doesn’t drink juices- so it had to be neutral.  While I was on the water isle, I noticed coconut water, and that brought back all that I had been reading about it lately.  Coconut water is naturally full of electrolytes, and the profile has even been compared to human plasma.  I have read that it has even been used in place of IV fluids in the past when doctors were running low.  Goodness, is there anything coconut can’t help with???  Needless to say, I grabbed a box of it too. 

This morning I finally tried out the coconut milk tonic recipe (http://www.thenourishinggourmet.com/2008/05/coconut-milk-tonic.html) and gave some to Daniel.  -By the way, I used Kimi’s recipe not Sally Fallons.  I think Daniel liked it, but it was warm, so he didn’t drink much.  I tried some a little bit ago and was impressed with it.  It has the consistency of milk and a light taste of coconut.  Kimi at Nourishing Gourmet uses this to make a lot of things besides just drinking it plain.  For those of you trying to get more coconut oil in your diet, I read something interesting in a book I got from the library last night called The Coconut Lover’s Cookbook by Bruce Fife: 1 cup of coconut milk gives you 2 tablespoons of coconut oil!  So if you want to do something different, you can add coconut milk or coconut milk tonic to smoothies or make puddings, etc to get your oil.  Great!  Eat (or drink :)) your coconut today!

dsc03701

