Whenever I ask Mike what he would like for me to add to the menu plan I can count on hearing “pizza”!  This is one of our favorite meals, and I have to admit that it is usually a once a week treat.  For the past 7 years I have been working on making this meal healthier.  My current pizza looks a little like this: homemade whole wheat crust (I grind the wheat), minced garlic, sauce, pine nuts, fresh herbs from the garden if they are in season, veggies, mozzarella cheese from the Oklahoma Food Coop, and Mike likes to have turkey pepperoni on top.  On Wednesday I went to the Farmer’s Market and got some beautiful shitaake mushrooms for Mike’s side of the pizza- yes, we have our own sides! 

If you are interested, here is a link to the recipe I used to make my crust: http://www.passionatehomemaking.com/2007/11/tuesday-recipes-pizza-crust.html One recipe made 3 crusts.  I used one and froze 2 of them.  I have brushed butter with herbs and garlic on the crust the past couple of times… extra yum factor there!  Here are some photos of tonight’s feast.  The first 2 are the pre-cheese product with a focus on the crust.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ta-da, the finished product.

