Here is a picture of our unusual dinner tonight (actually, Mike’s was more normal than mine).  I had tomato salad with basil vinaigrette, cucumbers, terra chips, roast beef sandwich on dehydrated onion bread with homemade avocado “mayo”.  The cucumbers and basil were from the garden.  I am currently doing a 4-6 week candida albicans cleansing diet.  I have been working on Daniel’s candida issues for several months, but I didn’t want to deal with it in my own life until it took such a toll on my health lately.  In a nutshell, candida albicans is a systemic yeast infection that can cause all kinds of health problems.  For more information, you can read this: http://www.yeastinfectionadvisor.com/index.html  I was dragging my heels on doing anything about it because in addition to the medicine, you really need to eat a special diet that I wasn’t willing to try.  Well, I finally took the plunge on Monday, and it has been a rough week.  I cannot eat/drink:  wheat or grain products (except amaranth, buckwheat, millet or quinoa), any form of sugar except stevia, coffee, black tea, vinegar, fruit (except berries, green apples, lemons, limes, cranberries or grapefruit in small quantities).  I can only have small amounts of beans or brown rice.  Phew.  This is a bit of a problem for a picky eater who LOVES carbs and fruits!!! 

I have had a horrendous time trying to plan meals without carbs.  At lunch I was sick of trying to come up with something and just ate carrots and almond butter since I can’t have peanuts either.  I finally remembered some onion “bread” that I make in the dehydrator.  It is made out of onions, carrots, zucchini (from the garden), ground pumpkin seeds, flax seeds and olive oil.  Tonight I enjoyed having a sandwich on that bread.  I will make some crackers in the dehydrator that will help my cravings too.  Another struggle has been my desire for bruschetta since I have so much basil and the tomatoes are getting plentiful.  Sadly, I can’t imagine eating it without BREAD, so I came up with an alternative.  I found a recipe for basil vinaigrette in Everyday Food which is a Martha Stewart publication that my friend, Holly, let me borrow.  I put it on cut up tomatoes, and it was the next best thing to bruschetta… yipppppppppeeeeeeeee!!!  Here is the recipe for all of you who have excess basil right now (I quadrupled it).

3 tablespoons olive oil

1 tablespoon white wine vinegar (I didn’t have it, so I used rice vinegar)

1 teaspoon dijon mustard

1/2 cup lightly packed fresh basil leaves

coarse salt and ground pepper

* I added a spoonful of minced garlic*

In a blender or mini food processor, combine the above ingredients with 1 tablespoon of water; blend until smooth.  Voila!

Well, that’s all for tonight.  Happy eating to you!

