Wow. I was in the kitchen cutting and dicing for most of the day today, but it went by quickly.  It seems that I often end up doing a lot of cooking projects at the same time.  I had several eggplants and zucchini from the garden that I needed to use soon, so that is what gave me the inspiration.  I used zucchini in the chicken skewers above and in the zucchini bread recipe you’ll see below.  Holly let Maggie and I borrow some Martha Stewart Food magazines, and Maggie used a recipe from one for these skewers for Sebastian’s birthday party.  Mike and I couldn’t eat enough of them, so I had to beg Maggie to type up the recipe to use this week.  She is so nice, so I will post the recipe for anyone interested. 

Grilled Greek Chicken Kebabs

with Mint-Feta Sauce
      serves 4- prep time 15 min- total time 1 hr.

 

·         1 pound boneless skinless chicken thighs,

·            cut into 24 one inch pieces.

·         1 zucchini, halved lengthwise and cut

·            crosswise

·         1/2 small red onion, quartered, layer s

·            separated

·         2 tbs olive oil

·         1 tsp dried oregano

·         3 tbs red wine vinegar

·         coarse salt and ground pepper

·         1/2 cup crumbled feta (2 oz)

·         1/4 cup low fat yogurt

·         1 cup fresh mint leaves

1.    In a reusable plastic bag combine chicken, zucchini, onion, oil, oregano and 2 tablespoons vinegar; season with 1/2 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp pepper. Marinade at room temp. for 30 min. (or refrigerate up to overnight).

2.   Heat grill or grill pan to medium. Soak eight 6 inch wooden skewers in water for 15 min.

3.   Onto each skewer, alternately thread 3 pieces of chkn w. 2 of zucchini and 2 of onion. Grill skewers turning occasionally, until chkn is cooked through, 12-14 min.

4.   Meanwhile make dipping sauce in a food processor, blend feta, yogurt, mint, and remaining tablespoon vinegar until smooth. Serve kebobs with dipping sauce.

Everyday Food Martha Stewart May 2008

Next I started working on some Baba Ghanouj with the eggplant.  This is a Middle Eastern dip that combines roasted eggplants, carmelized onions and garlic, tahini (ground sesame seeds), lemon juice and a bit of cayenne pepper.  The recipe I used is in one of my favorite cookbooks that my mom gave me: The Vegetarian Epicure.  The recipes are fabulous, but I don’t use it too often because they take a ton of time and use lots of dishes (the results are worth it, though). 

Eggplants from the garden

Carmelized vidalia onions and garlic (takes about 45 minutes)

The finished product is above along with some homemade brown rice crackers.  Yes, that was my next project.  When I was trying to limit the amount of gluten I gave Daniel, I wanted to use brown rice tortillas.  Unfortunately, the tortillas have a strange texture and just break when you fold them.  They taste delicious, though, so I was determined to figure out a use for them.  I made up a cracker recipe using some of my other favorite ingredients: coconut oil and herbamare (a great salt with dried veggies in it recommended by Jordan Rubin in the Maker’s Diet).  I just spread a thin layer of the oil on and sprinkle some salt; then I cut it into little squares with a pizza cutter.  I cook them for 10 minutes at 350* or until they are golden brown.  These have been a godsend for me lately since I am not eating wheat.  They are crispy and oh so good!!!  Here is what the process looks like:

After all this I moved on to my final project, some soaked whole wheat zucchini bread for Mike.  Soaking is an important step in baking to help remove the phytates.  All you have to do is let the flour sit in an acidic medium (kefir, yogurt, buttermilk, or lemon juice) for 12-24 hours.  Then you continue with the recipe.  I have never tried to modify a recipe that didn’t call for soaking because I don’t want to mess it up.  However, there are more and more recipes on the internet lately that call for soaking.  As a matter of fact, I found this recipe at this website: http://agardenofblessings.blogspot.com/.  Here is a picture of my batter with some of the key ingredients: kefir (homemade), fresh ground pastry wheat, coconut oil, raw honey.  Well, that’s all I have for now; I’m worn out!

