Today Daniel and I went to the Farmer’s Market and then to Whole Foods to get some essentials.  My tomatoes haven’t been producing as much this year (well, we are getting lots of black cherry tomatoes), so I haven’t been able to do all these wonderful tomato things I had planned yet.  I had to combine some from our garden with some from a co-worker of Mike’s and the Farmer’s Market to make salsa.  After that I made more pesto since I still have a lot of basil.  In the background of this photo is some basil olive oil and some homemade sourdough bread.  Last I made what I would like to call “Sunshine Salad”, a quinoa salad that one of my best friends from college, Chris, sent me the other day.  I will share her recipe below.  It is yummy!  Thanks, Chris!

Easy LEMON GARLIC QUINOA Salad
 
Salad:
 
1 c dry quinoa
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 c carrots chopped fine
1/3 c minced parsley
1/4 c sunflower seeds
 
Dressing:
 
1-2 cloves garlic (to taste)
1/4 c lemon juice
1/4 c EV olive oil
1-2 T Tamari (or shoyu)
 
Cook quinoa. Let cool and fluff with a fork. Mix all dressing ingredients. Add veggies to dressing and fold into quinoa until well combined. Chill. (I think this salad is best if it chills for at least an hour–lets the flavors combine and be absorbed by the quinoa. The flavor mellows in this time.

