My idea of fresh flowers lately: zinnias and rosemary in a mason jar!

What a year I have had gardening.  Things just haven’t seemed to grow or taste quite like they should.  I finally bought my first soil test kit and did a few samples to see what I am working with.  Wow!  That was definitely $5 well spent.  EVERYTHING is off… from pH to the various nutrients.  Now I am trying to work three different soil amendments into the ground around what I already have growing.  This is going to be a long process, but I know it will be worth it.  As I write and think about it, I can’t help but be reminded about the condition of the soil in our lives… Jesus talked about the importance of soil in the Parable of the Sower in Matthew 13.  It is awesome that God has given us the Holy Spirit who is able to constantly test the soil of our hearts if we are sensitive and want to hear the truth.  When the soil is really messed up (like mine currently is), Jesus is able to minister to us through Holy Spirit and the Bible to change us and make us like Him- Perfect in every way!  Woo hoo! 

So, here are some pictures of some of the things that are coming along these days:

Mini pumpkins for Daniel

My first ever acorn squash… I hope it makes it!

My first ever spaghetti squash!

Okra… such a beautiful plant that I do not like to eat (I grow it for Mike who actually likes to eat it raw).

