Okay, let me clarify about the baked oatmeal.  I have a standard recipe that is supposed to be from Pennsylvania Amish country that is wonderful and easy to make- no problems.  The problem comes when I have tried to make it healthier in the past by soaking it.  I couldn’t get the ratios right, so it came out yucky.  Now that I have been soaking things more often, I have a better feel for things.  I tried one more time a few days ago, and it worked!  Yipppppppppppeeeeeeeeee!!!!  I will post the original recipe and then I will post my soaking method.  Oh, if you have never had baked oatmeal, you are going to love it.  Typically it is served with all the toppings that you might put on regular oatmeal: nuts, fruit, maple syrup/honey, cream.  For simplicity sake, I add most of those things to the recipe, so all I add before eating is milk or cream.  Okay, here it is:

3 cups rolled oats

1 cup brown sugar (I use about 3/4 cup sucanat)

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup milk (if soaking, use kefir or buttermilk)

2 eggs

1/2 cup melted butter (I use coconut oil)

2 teaspoons vanilla

3/4 cup dried cranberries (I add more things- like dried blueberries and cherries)

I also like to add pecans and sometimes flax seed.  OH, I also did something crazy to get Daniel to eat it, I added a few grain sweetened chocolate chips!  It worked!!!

Preheat oven to 350*. 

Mix together all the ingredients in a large bowl.  Spread into a 9×13 baking dish.  Bake for 40 minutes. 

*** To soak:  combine the 3 ingredients in bold type (oats, kefir, coconut oil) in a bowl.  Cover with a towel and leave on the counter over night.  In the morning add the rest of the ingredients and bake as written.

ENJOY!

