I have had such an awesome day so far with Daniel.  We spent a couple of hours in the garage… well, I did, anyway.  He played outside on his bikes or ran around or “helped” me clean.  It is wonderful to be able to trust him to spend time outside with me like that.  Mike and I threw all our “stuff” in the garage when we moved here THREE years ago and have never gotten around to pulling it all out and organizing it.  Okay, so that is not what I was going to write about; sometimes I’m easily distracted.  So, the first big news is that I just walked past Daniel’s door (he is supposed to be napping) and heard him singing VERY CLEARLY every single word to “Jesus loves me”!  I almost started crying!  I am so excited by all the improvements he is making in his speech.  He is putting 2 words together more often and using more verbs (although they are usually in command form like: “Cuddle, mama”- that’s my favorite).  I just had to send this praise report out into cyberspace.  🙂 

Daniel and I ate PB&Js in his clubhouse at lunchtime and then he got in the sprinklers while I was watering.  I left Daniel on the patio for a few minutes while I went to get some shampoo and a towel so that I could combine play and bathtime- yes, I am a big multi-tasker.  When I came back out Daniel was sitting on a little pink plastic sand sifting toy and said, “Poo poo, mama!”  I couldn’t believe it!  He had pulled off his diaper, sat down like he was on the toilet and pooped in his toy!  Some people might have been upset by this, but I am THRILLED!  I can’t believe it!  The standard question for parents with kids Daniel’s age is, “Is he potty trained yet?…NO?…  When are you going to do it?”  I am so tired of it!  -It’s almost as if I am not a good mom or something if Daniel isn’t using the bathroom on his own.  If Daniel hadn’t had so many issues I probably would have tried to push him into potty training on MY schedule, but I have really learned to be laid back in the past year.  I have had many moms tell me that it is much better to just let the child lead when he is ready.  I have no idea if today’s event will lead to true potty training, but for now I am basking in the thrill of it all.  So, now that that’s out, I won’t write about poop again on here!  I’m sorry if I offended anyone.  I guess that’s just my life right now.

