Today I met with the Natural Mama’s group to discuss natural, homeopathic and herbal remedies.  I finally got to teach everyone how to make tinctures.  Not everyone was able to make it, so we took pictures, and I thought I would take you step by step through the process.  Before I do, I wanted to remember to tell you about my 2 favorite websites for herbs and tincture-making items:

Bulk Herb Store- http://www.bulkherbstore.com/

Mountain Rose Herbs- http://www.mountainroseherbs.com/

In the picture at the beginning of this post you will see my 3 favorite books to use for treating Daniel.

Okay, so there are different types of tinctures (extracts), but the 2 I use are glycerites (for Daniel) and alcohol based (these draw out the properties of the herbs best) for Mike and I.  You can find directions for making tinctures when you click on the “preparing remedies” tab at Bulk Herb Store.  I will just be general here because I don’t have much time at the moment.  For either type of tincture, you will start by putting herbs in a clean glass mason jar.

 

The next step is to pour some boiling water on the herbs just to help them start releasing their goodness.  I don’t have a picture of this, but I’m sure you can use your imagination.  The next step will differ based on the type of tincture you are making.  If making an alcohol-based one, you add your alcohol (vodka or rum- something 80 proof) to the jar.  Side note on this… please use alcohol in a GLASS bottle because I cannot even imagine how much this strong alcohol would pull BPA and phthalates from the plastic bottle.  I don’t think you want to serve those up to your family!  I just picked the cheapest vodka I could find in a glass bottle.  If you are making a glycerite, you will add FOOD GRADE glycerin to the jar.  I get mine from Mountain Rose Herbs. 

 

If you have an alcohol-based tincture, you will let it sit in a cool, dark place for 3 weeks and shake it every day.  If you have a glycerite, you will put it in the crockpot with hot water on low for 3 days. 

When the tincture is done, you strain it through an old t-shirt or cheesecloth and then bottle it.  I put some in little jars and then leave the rest in the big jar.  That’s all there is to it!  Great stuff that you can make for your family.  ENJOY!

