dsc03466

Woweee- what an awesome morning I had with my Natural Mama’s friends!  This month we had a guest speaker, Shannon Spicer, who writes one of my favorite blogs:  http://allthingshealth.wordpress.com/.  I have been anxiously awaiting this meeting like a little kid looking forward to Christmas morning, and I was not disappointed!  I have read a lot of great books on nutrition, 3 of which she highly recommended:

Nourishing Traditions

Eat Fat, Lose Fat

Maker’s Diet

I love all these books, but my big problem is sifting through all that I have read in them, seen on the internet, discussed with 2 nutritionists, etc, and knowing what the truth is.  I am saturated with information, and it can be a little frustrating.  The biggest thing that I got out of our time with Shannon was how to filter all of this through the lens of God’s Word.  As a Christian, I am used to looking to the Bible for help in any and every situation, but I have to admit that I hadn’t really studied it like I would like in order to see what the Lord says about food and eating.  Here are the filters that Shannon shared:

1 Timothy 4:1-5   Now the Holy Spirit tells us clearly that in the last times some will turn away from the true faith; they will follow deceptive spirits and teachings that come from demons.  These people are hypocrites and liars, and their consciences are dead.

They will say it is wrong to be married and wrong to eat certain foods. But God created those foods to be eaten with thanks by faithful people who know the truth.  Everything God created is good, we should not reject any of it but receive it with thanks.  For we know it is made acceptable by the word of God and prayer.

Isaiah 55:2  “Why do you spend money for what is not bread,
         And your wages for what does not satisfy?
         Listen carefully to Me, and eat what is good,
         And delight yourself in abundance.

        (When sharing the above verse in Isaiah, Shannon pointed out that so many people spend lots of money on processed junky food that does not fill us up or ultimately nourish/satisfy us like whole foods). 

I am planning on spending some time in the next few days pondering what implication these have on what/how Mike and I eat, and I am excited to see what God teaches me.  I am so thankful that He promises to give us wisdom when we are truly seeking it.  I would encourage you to check out this post Shannon wrote months ago that helps you evaluate where you are in your food journey and where you can go next: http://allthingshealth.wordpress.com/2008/04/12/the-ladder-of-healthy-eating/

At then end Shannon let us taste some fun fermented items that she had made: kombucha, pickles (with garlic) and sauerkraut (with caraway seeds).  I loved everything and can’t wait to get some cabbage to make sauerkraut.  The batch I made long ago did not come out good.  I think it is time for round 2!  Hopefully I can do that in the next week or two.  When I was looking at the recipe again today in Nourishing Traditions I was inspired to try making some pickled beets even though I have never tried them, so I ordered some beets from the coop tonight (I’ll get them next week).  Mike, don’t worry, I won’t even try to get you to taste them!!!  I’ll post results when I have them.  -Update on November 14, I posted pictures above of my ginger carrots and sauerkraut that are fermenting.  Beet Kvass is next! 

 

