dsc03465

When Shannon talked at our Natural Mama’s group this week she gave us a hand out on ingredients in ice cream.  Standard store bought ice cream has a bunch of yucky stuff in it that we shouldn’t eat, including polysorbate 80.  Shannon mentioned that she wasn’t sure what it is but that she thought it wasn’t good.  I was reading another blog today (Naturally Knocked Up), and here is a description of it: Polysorbate 80, 50mcg. This is a known carcinogen and this chemical has been shown to cause infertility in rats causing estrogenic alterative effects and reproductive disturbances.  Wow!  The author was mentioning it because it is used in the awful Gardasil vaccines.  I don’t really think I want that in my ice cream!  Anyway, Shannon mentioned that a better choice for ice cream is Haagen Daas because the ingredients are all normal foods.  The best option, though, is homemade ice cream.  This was a great reminder for me that I have been wanting to try a recipe on The Nourishing Gourmet for a while, and I had an ice cream can in the freezer waiting on me.  With no further encouragement needed, I roasted one of the last 2 pumpkins I have sitting on my counter (it is an Australian Blue, and it is fabulous) and got to work on the ice cream. 

dsc03243

Here is a link for the recipe, if you are interested:  http://www.thenourishinggourmet.com/2008/10/decadent-pumpkin-pie-ice-cream.html.  Daniel hadn’t seemed to be much of a pumpkin fan until I made this ice cream.  As you can see, he definitely likes it in this form! 

dsc03458

dsc03463

