dsc034471

I have taken lots of random breakfast shots lately, so I thought I would share with you a few of our favorite breakfast (or breakfast for dinner or anytime you want it) dishes.  Above is one of my current favorites- soaked steel cut oatmeal with whole flax seeds and dried fruit (cranberries, blueberries and coconut).  I like to top it with raw cream, maple syrup, coconut oil and pecans or walnuts.  What a feast!  I soak the oats and flax first according to the link below:

dsc03440

http://www.passionatehomemaking.com/2008/09/soaked-oatmeal-breakfast.html

By the way, if you use steel cut oats and flax, they use more water and expand more.  You can get the steel cut oats cheapest in the bulk section at Whole Foods. 

dsc03161

Doesn’t this look beautiful???  This, my friends, is a Dutch Baby Pancake that you cook in the oven.  It is not a healthy dish as it uses white flour, but it is definitely worth an occasional splurge.  -Served with some turkey bacon, you can feel better about it.  🙂

dsc031621

Now for some really healthy and delicious pancakes- my favorite recipe is from Sue Gregg.  I need to buy some of her cookbooks because she has great soaked grain recipes. 

dsc03355

These are called “Blender batter pancakes”, and they couldn’t be easier to make (if you have whole grains on hand).  I like to mix oats and SWEET brown rice for mine.  I make a double batch because we love these!  Here is a post that has the recipe in it:  http://www.passionatehomemaking.com/2007/12/tuesday-recipes-wafflespancakes.html 

dsc03357

Lastly, we love your basic scrambled eggs.  I finally got a cast iron pan since the eggs are awful to cook in stainless steel no matter what I do.  I usually cook up a package of bacon in the oven at 400* for 15 minutes (on a jelly roll pan with parchment paper) and freeze it.  Then I can pull out a piece or two to break up and cook in the scrambled eggs.  Daniel just loves his “eggs, baky, cheese”!  Mike eats my homemade yogurt pretty much every day since he gets up so early to have a quiet time, so he enjoys it when we have something different on the weekend or breakfast for dinner.  What are some of your favorites? 

dsc03443

