dsc03594

YUM YUM YUM!!!!!!!!!   This is currently our favorite dessert, thanks to Miss Maggie Mings for sharing it with me.  I have made it twice in the past week.  I shared it with some friends the other day, and they wanted me to share the recipe, so here it is… a wonderful gluten-free cake.  I added my personal thoughts at the end of the recipe.  Let me know what you think!

 

PEANUT BUTTER CAKE   

 


Ingredients

1 cup peanut butter
1 banana (mashed)
1 egg
1/2 cup honey
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4-1/2 teaspoon almond flavor (if you don’t have this, you add extra vanilla extract instead)


 

 

Instructions

Blend the above ingredients well. The longer you blend it the better. Of course don’t let your blender or electric mixer start smoking. I blended the ingredients at high speed for about 1 min. to make the egg real fluffy and then I reduced the speed to “Stir” mode for about 2 min. to aerate it.

Pour ingredients into a buttered cake pan and bake on 350 for about 20-30 min. It is done when it is a light golden brown color and a toothpick comes out clean. But don’t let it cook too long, it is nice and moist and cooking it too long wouldn’t be good.

*** Kierlee’s note: You will notice that there is no pan size mentioned on this recipe.  I have experimented, and I like it best in a 2.5 quart casserole pan so far.  It is very difficult to get the cake cooked all the way through correctly- I have to let mine get pretty dark on the edges before the middle seems to be done.  Don’t despair, though, it still tastes GREAT!  Oh, we also have enjoyed dropping a few chocolate chips on top before baking. 

dsc03598

