dsc03601

We had our first HOMEMADE korean dinner the other night.  Don’t get me wrong, I have cooked Korean many times (it is one of our favorite meals), but I have always picked up the stuff already prepared… all I had to do was cook it and put it together.  There must be a run on Korean food in Tulsa because the last few times I have been at the Korean store, they were out of the prepared things I buy (bulgoki and kimchi).  The last time I went I decided that it was time for me to finally learn how to do it myself.  The good thing is that it won’t have MSG!!!  I have had the meat for several months, so it was time for me to be brave and use it!  I found a good looking bulgoki recipe on the internet,  and since I already made kimchi, it was time to go.   I would have to say that I did a good job!  I still used the yummy hot pepper paste from the store that has MSG, but I think I have a recipe to make my own now.  Next time it will be even better.  Here is what it looked like:

dsc03603

dsc03602

For dessert we had some homemade ice cream and hot fudge sauce even thought it wasn’t in keeping with the Korean theme.  I made the ice cream with half coconut milk and half cream and a little coconut extract… um um good.   It was the perfect ending to a spicy meal.  🙂

dsc03604

