n1081879378_1201

Introducing Clay Peevyhouse!!!

We have always thought that Clay was a pretty cool dude, but last night we really saw his generosity and servant’s heart!   I had my first knitting class (I am not sure there is much of a future for me in this, but I am trying), and Mike had to drop me off and pick me up since he and Daniel took Mike’s dad to dinner.  Last night there were major storms throughout Oklahoma, and when Mike came to get me it was raining REALLY HARD.  Being the gentleman that he is, he pulled up as close as he could, turned off the car and ran up to get me with an umbrella.  When we got back in the car, it wouldn’t start!   Oh no!  We had had no indication that there was any kind of problem with the car, and here we were stuck in an illegal parking space in the Jenks High School parking lot on a DARK AND STORMY NIGHT!  Who could rescue us???   Thinking about our location, we realized that the people closest to us were Clay and Holly Peevyhouse who lived on the other side of the school.  Thankfully they were home, and Clay agreed to come give our car a jump. 

It would be a great story if it just ended there, but NOOOOOOOOOOOOO, there is more!   Our stubborn car still wouldn’t start.  At that point Mike said that he would just call our car service to have them tow the car to the house since we didn’t seem to have any other option at 8:30 at night (did I say that it was raining???).   Clay, being the thoughtful guy that he is, didn’t go for that plan.  He offered to take us all to his house to gather up some tools and then drop Daniel and I off at our house and then take Mike to Wal-Mart to get a new battery and then put it in for us!!!  Wow!  How could we turn that down?  As we were driving around, we found out that Holly and the girls were sick, and Clay was getting sick.  Here he was out in the RAIN helping us out when he was not feeling great.   Not many people would do that!  It would have been a lot easier and more comfortable for him to just drop Daniel and I off while Mike waited for a tow truck.  This really touched my heart and made me so thankful for the awesome people that the Lord has put in our lives.  Clay is truly a servant, one in whom we can see Jesus, and we are fortunate to know him. 

Jesus called them together and said, “You know that the rulers of the Gentiles lord it over them, and their high officials exercise authority over them. Not so with you. Instead, whoever wants to become great among you must be your servant, and whoever wants to be first must be your slave— just as the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.” -Matthew 20:25-28

