dsc03898

For those of you who don’t speak Spanish, the title is: “Fried Plantains”.  For those of you who don’t know what plantains are- shame on you!  (Just kidding!)  This was one of my absolute favorite Peruvian dishes, and it always makes me want to go back to the jungles of Peru.  Maybe someday…. For now, though, I will just make some at home and daydream. 

dsc03900

All you have to do for this easy dish is to allow the plantain to ripen until it is black or almost completely black so that it is sweet enough.  Then you cut it up- I like to cut the plantain in thirds and then cut each section in 3 pieces to get them even and fairly thin (around 1/2 inch thick, I guess).  Heat up some coconut oil in a pan, and then fry them until they get a beautiful golden brown.  Flip them over and cook the other side.  When they are done, you can let them drain on a paper towel. 

dsc03904

Oops!  I forgot to adjust the color- they really aren’t blackened.  Serve them along with dinner and enjoy!

dsc03908

