dsc04030

Today at our Natural Mamas meeting I showed my friends how to make whey and then we used that to make sauerkraut.   I have given the recipes for these 2 things on a previous post: https://homecharmer.wordpress.com/2008/11/19/yummy-sauerkraut/  It is so easy… you have to try it!  Here are some other yummy things to do if you are up to the challenge. 

dsc04033

SALSA

4 medium tomatoes, peeled, seeded and diced (since it is winter I used a large can of Muir Glen Whole Fire Roasted tomatoes.  If you do this, don’t add the salt until you have mixed it up since there is salt in the tomatoes, and then see if you need any)

2 small onions, finely chopped

3/4 cup chile pepper, hot or mild

6-8 cloves of garlic, peeled and finely chopped (optional)

1 bunch cilantro, chopped

1 teaspoon dried oregano

juice of 2 lemons (this sounded strange, so I added lime juice)

1 tablespoon sea salt

4 tablespoons whey

1/4 cup filtered water (since I used canned tomatoes, I used a little of the juice from can instead). 

Mix all ingredients and place in a quart-sized, wide-mouth mason jar.  Press down lightly with a wooden meat pounder or a meat hammer, adding more water if necessary to cover vegetables.  The top of the veggies should be at least 1 inch below the top of the jar.  Cover tightly and keep at room temp for about 2 days before transferring to cold storage.   (I did 3 days). 

dsc04032

PINEAPPLE CHUTNEY

1 small pineapple (I was in a hurry, so I actually used frozen)

1 bunch cilantro, coarsely chopped

1 tablespoon freshly grated ginger

2 tablespoons fresh lime juice

1 tablespoon sea salt

1/4 cup wey

1/2 cup filtered water

{Variation: Hot pineapple chutney… Add 1 small red onion, 1 jalapeno pepper and 1/2 red pepper, all finely chopped.  Again, I was in a hurry, so I added chopped red pepper from a spice jar instead of jalapeno.}

Mix together and put in jar, adding more water if necessary to cover pineapple.  The chutney should be at least 1 inch below the top of the jar.  Cover tightly and keep at room temp for 2 days before transferring to refrigerator.  This should be eaten within 2 months. 

That’s all for now.  Happy cooking!

