dsc04075

I just had to add this picture even though it doesn’t have to do with cooking (but it does have to do with Daniel since he put the bunny ears on our patient, wonderful cat). 

dsc040831

This is failure number one… sorghum waffles.  They actually taste pretty good, but Daniel wouldn’t touch them.  He was excited about them while we were making them, and he was happy about the raw honey that we put on them, but that was as far as we got. 

dsc04094

Failure number two… coconut flour bread.  I actually think this tastes better than any coconut flour food I’ve made before, but would Daniel taste it?  NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO.   Argh!!!!!!!!   I finally realized this morning that I need to stop wasting my time and money trying to make gluten free bread products.  I think Daniel really equates them with stomach pain, so I need to cut them out. 

dsc04081

Here is what I have attempted to do instead… spinach tortillas made in the dehydrator:

dsc04090

I made a turkey sandwich on the tortilla since I cooked it a little bit too long (it was slightly crispy).  I loved the “dough” for this, but as it dried the spinach flavor got really strong.  I haven’t given any to Daniel yet, so we shall see.  I also have a recipe for a raw tortilla with avocado in it that is good.  I might make that one soon.  Tomorrow I am finally going to make the corn tortillas that I prepared a few months ago and froze (as you can see, tortillas seem to be the one bread-like product that Daniel will eat right now). 

dsc04088

Here is the biggest winner so far… honey mustard!  Some kids dip everything in ketchup, but Daniel goes nuts over honey mustard.  I decided that I was going to have to make my own if I was going to give it to him.  This one is actually very nutritious since it has raw honey and raw apple cidar vinegar; talk about a lot of enzymes and good stuff!!!!!!!!!!   Here is the recipe:

Honey Mustard Dressing

5 tablespoons honey

3 tablespoons Dijon mustard

2 tablespoons apple cidar vinegar

Blend and enjoy!  (As you can see below, rice crackers are even good when dipped in this).

dsc04087

Well, I think you might be getting the picture that I am having a difficult time with this gluten-free situation.  It is definitely easier for me to get rid of dairy products than wheat/grains.  I am getting ready to look for a sunflower seed cracker recipe (to make in the dehydrator) since he will eat crackers.  I’ll also share later about the rice crackers that I make.  Get excited!

