dsc04122

I found this recipe on the blog, “Keeper of the Home” last week and was really excited to try it.  I have been wanting to make a soaked, raw granola, but I didn’t really like the last one I made (it involved soaking the oats in kefir to release the phytates and then cooking in the oven).  I had been thinking through in my head how to do this in the dehydrator instead to help the texture.  Then, lo and behold, here is one that is gluten and casein free!  -Not that Daniel will eat this yet, but at least he can when he gets used to the idea.  Mike and I really like it even though it tastes quite different from granola with oats.  I gave it to the girls in my accountablity group, and they liked it too.  Yum! 

Serene’s Rejuvenation Granola (from Rejuvenate your Life– a raw “cook”  book)

4-5 cups dry whitish green buckwheat (NOT THE DARK BROWN KASHA)… I bought mine in the bulk section at Whole Foods and just eyeballed how much.  This will make about 14-16 cups of sprouted buckwheat. 

¾ cup coconut oil or extra virgin olive oil

¾ cup raw honey

½ cup ground flax seeds

1 cup ground raw sesame seeds (I used whole ones)

Cinnamon to taste

Vanilla (I also added a bit of almond extract)

Lots of raisins or other dried fruit to taste

Lots of other yummy things like raw nuts or seeds (I used soaked nuts that I already had prepared with the exception of some pecans.  These were in my freezer, so I just pulled them out the morning I was going to mix it all together and soaked them in water and a bit of salt.  Then I threw them in wet to the mix since they would dry in the dehydrator).  I also added hemp seed since it is so good for you… it’s one of our new favorites, and it does not need to be soaked since there are NO PHYTATES.  Awesome. 

1.  Sprout the buckwheat:  Soak buckwheat overnight in a bowl of water. In the morning, put the buckwheat in a colander, and rinse it very, very well with cold water (buckwheat emits a mucilage, much like flax seeds when they get wet, so if you don’t rinse well enough, they get goopy and smell very off- make sure to shake them around while rinsing to do a thorough job each time). Set the colander in or over a bowl, cover it with a towel and set it aside. Before you go to bed, rinse very well again, and cover overnight. Continue to rinse at least twice a day until it has short sprouts- around 1/2 cm (maybe a 1/4 of an inch or a little shorter?). It usually take 2-3 days.

dsc04124

2) Mix the buckwheat with all the other ingredients in a very large mixing bowl.

3) Spread on greased mesh dehydrator sheets, just high enough so you can easily fit the next tray on top- I filled 4 of my square trays. 

4) After a few hours, use a fork to break it up a bit into chunks. Leave it to dehydrate overnight or until completely dry and crispy.

dsc04126

I enjoyed a bowl of it this morning with some strawberries and fresh raw cream from the dairy!!!

dsc04131

Here is the link to order “Rejuvenate your life”… I had heard about it for a while, but wanted to try a recipe from it before spending money.  Well, this granola sells me on it, so I think I will be ordering it today! 

http://rubies.articledirectoree.com/component/option,com_virtuemart/Itemid,27/page,shop.product_details/category_id,11/flypage,shop.flypage/product_id,27/index.php?option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=27&page=shop.product_details&category_id=11&flypage=shop.flypage&product_id=27&vmcchk=1

