DSC_0003

I found this yummy (and not very sweet) recipe for cookies on a website for the paleo diet: http://www.sonofgrok.com/2009/02/recipe-carrot-cake-caveman-cookies/.  I made some modifications based on the comments I read at the end, our own preferences and the desire to keep more enzymes and vitamins in them.   Here is the recipe I used…

1 large and 1 small carrot

1/2 cup almond flour

1/2 cup shredded coconut (I used a “powder” that I got at an Indian food store for a good price)

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 tablespoon coconut oil

1 egg

a few shakes pumpkin pie spice

chia seed (a couple of tablespoons or so… I was just experimenting.  I think you could toss all sorts of things in  like sesame seeds, hemp seed, etc).

Bit of honey (probably about 2ish tablespoons)

Do you like how specific I am???  I grated the carrots in the food processor and then mixed everything else in there.   I dropped them by the tablespoon full on the mat of my dehydrator trays and then flattened them a bit.  If you want to put them in the oven, you can put them in at 400* for 10-11 minutes.   I dried mine at 125* for 2 hours, flipped them (removed mat from tray) and dried them for another 2 1/2 hours.  You could do more if you want them drier, but I figured they might be best more chewy.  I hope someone will try this!

