I recently was blessed to be able to start ordering food from a coop out of Oregon called Azure Standard.  I had heard about it for a couple of years; it is highly regarded and used by the healthy blogs that I frequent.  This past month I got a catalog with my order, and I found this recipe which excited me.  Mike LOVES no bake cookies, but I have never made them.  I decided to take a chance and try these out, and he gobbled them down.  If you are looking for a new dessert recipe that is “healthier”, you might want to try this one (in the future I might try to use soaked/dehydrated oats in them to remove the phytates and make them even healthier). 

No Bake Cookies

1.5 cups sucanat or rapadura

1/4 cup carob powder (I used half raw carob and half Dagoba cocoa)

1/2 cup milk (preferable whole, raw milk)

1/2 cup butter

3 cups quick cooking oats (I used regular rolled oats, and they were fine)

1/4 cup peanut butter

Boil sugar, carob, milk and butter in a large pan for one minute.  Mix in oats and PB.  Drop by teaspoonfuls onto waxed or parchment paper.  Refrigerate until set.  Store in fridge or freezer.

